am I normal now?

I felt really normal this week.  It was a little unsettling.  Is this how normal people feel?  Like, the day was fine, some funny things happened, some good things happened, there was a difficult meeting, overall I know I have a good life and I’m thankful for it, goodnight and let’s do it all again tomorrow.

I still found life to be beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time, but I was able to move on.  For example, one night there was a beautiful moon.  Usually, I would stop everything, pull over if I was driving, and just enjoy and appreciate the hell out of that beautiful moon.  But this week, I noticed it, I appreciated it, I sent gratitude to the universe for such a moon and then I washed the dished.  No big deal.  On the flip side, I did not cry at all this week.  Out of anxiety, from the change of a new job, from the pressure of wanting to do my best and be respected by my colleagues, from all the love and support that my friends and family sent my way, or from loneliness in the evening.  I was just stable and steady.  I like and respect the people I’m now working with and I know I did a great job this week.  Is this what “normal” feels like?

It makes me think, that for the past several years, all the times I thought I was doing okay and managing – I really wasn’t.  Not compared to how I’m doing now.  I’m still taking the anti-depressant right before I go to bed and I’ll keep doing that for a couple more weeks until I switch back to mornings.  My moods and feelings have really leveled out.  There is a part of me that misses the intensity of the good stuff but none of me that misses the lows and the negative thinking that accompanied the lows.  I”m glad that I took the leap to go on an anti-depressant for the next year.  I really wanted to treat my depression naturally, but it wasn’t having the effect I needed and I just knew in my gut that it was time to be more aggressive with this issue.

I haven’t lost my personality or my quick wit, I’m still here, I’m just evened out and I need to appreciate it and enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “am I normal now?

  1. I think you are on the right track, trying to find a middle ground between the intense highs and lows, its far less stressful in the end. I hope you’re doing well, Paul.

Your perspective is welcomed: